writing

Waiting For Thy Muse

I have always enjoyed writing and making up stories, although I can’t say I’ve been serious about it until the last four years.

What do I mean, to be SERIOUS about writing?

There’s a difference between taking a sprint around the block just for the fun of it, maybe even racing against a friend (or the neighbor’s dog) and training to run in competition. You have to keep at it consistently if you want to be successful.

The same applies to writing. There may be some people who can choose to drop everything when the muse inspires them, but most of us have other things in our lives that make that untenable. We have other jobs. Or people. Or responsibilities. Or we might just be driving when the muse appears (and if you think TEXTING WHILE DRIVING is a problem, just consider what would happen if you tried to WRITE A WHOLE NOVEL.)

And then there’s the fact that you don’t know if you will EVER have that mystical inspiration visited upon you. Waiting can result in absolutely nothing getting done.

So to me, it’s impractical to only write when you are inspired – I have to decide to write – not when the mood hits me, but whenever I can.

Anyway, one of the signs for me that I had become serious about writing was that I’ve set goals since then (how many short stories I’ll write, how many words/week, etc.), and I’m currently in the process of analyzing how I did against my writing goals for 2015, and then setting my objectives for the coming year.

Someone expressed the opinion recently that by holding myself to these tasks – by making it MANDATORY that I write – that I was forcing my writing instead of letting natural creativity happen.

BUT WHEN DOES THAT MYSTICAL MIRACLE OCCUR? As I’ve said above – it either never does, or chooses inopportune times.

Waiting for JUST THE RIGHT TIME may be the difference between people who WANT to write and who ARE writers. I know things changed for me when I stopped waiting.

He who hesitates is lost.

Just saying…

<<<>>>

Next in line for ePublication is “Behind the 8-Ball”:

The clock is running down as humanity struggles to find a new home; they’ve opened a gate into the unknown, but need evidence that their new world is on the other side before they go through. Moses can provide that proof, but how could anyone besides his wife believe him? Sometimes, you have to take a leap of faith.

Available soon for preorders; release date is January 15th.

<<<>>>

William Mangieri’s writing, including his latest ePub “Finding Sanctuary”, can be found in many places, including:

To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to

His site on WordPress: https://williammangieri.wordpress.com

“William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:

http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink

His Goodreads author page: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri

Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

Leave a Reply

