goals / Meandering / writing

Meandering Monday about My Legacy

I joke all the time about how I’m getting old. At the place where I work during the day (the job that makes it possible for me to come out at night as my alter ego and ply my trade as a writer – not as dramatic as The Dark Knight, but I like the imagery), I am indeed one of the most mature people still standing. There are people younger than me who have retired already, and others who will be hanging it up in the next few months. That sort of makes me an endangered species – maybe there’s some job security in that?

Anyway, age has me wondering about a few things. My retirement carries its own stresses (I don’t see it looming over the horizon, which is part of the intrigue), but other worries are coming into the picture, too. We all get junk mail – what kind do you get? I don’t mean spam emails or social media ads – those are so cheap to send out that even though it’s possible for solicitors to target them by what they know about you, it isn’t that cost-intensive, so you’ll get promotions that have nothing to do with your interests or stage in life. Phone solicitors just seem to want someone to talk to, and they’ll try to sell you cat food even if you don’t have a cat.

The better gauge is snail mail. Someone had to pay good money to print the materials, package them, transport the mail and deliver it. I don’t know what you get – they used to send me deals for singles clubs, cruises, and gym memberships; now I get hearing aid offers, retirement communities, financial planners (with an emphasis on what I’m going to leave my heirs when I kick off) and funeral homes.

It gets me thinking about what I’m going to leave behind.

See, we all die eventually, although some people seem to stay with us forever (no, I’m not talking about your annoying relatives.) There are people who have done things that will be remembered long after they’re gone. They won a war, or prevented one. They cured a disease, or invented some game-changing piece of technology. Some have created lasting works – buildings, or a sculpture, music (I could go on and on with the whats, so I’ll just cut to the chase) or maybe even the written word.

As little as I feel I’ve accomplished in my life (so far – it’s not over yet!), it’s an odd comfort to know that – when I DO kick the bucket – the words I’ve laid down in the stories I’ve written (and even in this blog) will keep me from utterly vanishing from this world, so that even after those who actually knew me are gone, I will still leave some part of me behind to be remembered.

After all, who doesn’t want to leave a legacy?

Just saying…

<<<>>>

collectivecoverMy next story is all prepped and ready for ePub.

The Collective is ALL! At least that’s what Abbe’s been told, but events lead him to wonder if there might just be some intelligent life “out there.”

 

“The Collective Is All” is a short, speculative fiction that anthropomorphizes the internal processes of our… processors. The release date is January 13th, but you can preorder now at all the usual places, including, but not limited to:

Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/693331?ref=NoTimeToThink

<<<>>>

collection8ebookcoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his latest publication Some More, And Yet Still Even More Things I Could Get OUT OF MY MIND , can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

 

Leave a Reply

