goals / writing

Writing Wednesday: Motivation, Metrics, and Me

(when will this 2016 postmortem end?)

2016 was a year of writing disappointment. As I’ve said over-and-over again, it would be easy to blame it all on the slab-leak, I’d rather not. I know I could have lessened the impact, and scapegoating wastes energy that could be used on course-correction.

One of the things that made it easier to lose traction on my goals was that I stopped reporting my progress (or lack thereof.) Knowing that OTHER PEOPLE are going to see whether I’m living up to my commitments is a great motivator (yes, I believe in the positive results that can be achieved through the threat of PUBLIC HUMILIATION.)

When you have a goal to write a certain number of stories in a year, you can see the statistics that you’re behind (the sort of thing I report quarterly; note – I didn’t report on the 3rd quarter), but you haven’t FAILED until the year is over (I thought I still might finish those last three stories in December.)

To help keep myself on track, I need to report in weekly, and Writing Wednesdays are the place to do it, so:  Last week I only wrote on three days (I don’t count blogging), and only managed to add 721 words to “Victimless”, far short of my 3,000 word goal. I’m definitely not holding to a solid writing schedule: from experience, I’ve made my weekly goal by writing every day. If I get at least 300 words every weekday, that gets me half the way there, so I can do my heavy hitting on the weekend. So from now on, I should push for that 300 words every weekday instead of focusing on the end-of-week goal.

Metrics are good to have – number of words per week, number of stories completed per year. You have to be able to measure whether you are progressing. I haven’t figured out yet how to handle the second run at Swordsmaster – I know I won’t be totally rewriting it – mostly revising. How do I fairly tally the new words? I have a methodology for my short fiction – I always do a rough draft, and then two additional clean-up revisions that I’ve determined over time add a total of 20% to the effort (so a 5,000 word story generally counts for 6,000 words by the time it’s done.) Not sure how to (fairly) measure my production on however many iterations of my novel I’ll wind up with, but I need to be able to prove to myself that I’m not having another backwards year.

Just saying…

<<<>>>

 

My next story is all prepped and ready for ePub.

 

collectivecoverThe Collective is ALL! At least that’s what Abbe’s been told, but events lead him to wonder if there might just be some intelligent life “out there.”

“The Collective Is All” is a short, speculative fiction that anthropomorphizes the internal processes of our… processors. The release date is January 13th, but you can preorder now at all the usual places, including, but not limited to:

 

Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/693331?ref=NoTimeToThink

<<<>>>

collection8ebookcoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his latest publication Some More, And Yet Still Even More Things I Could Get OUT OF MY MIND , can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

Leave a Reply

