Creativity / goals / Meandering / writing

Meandering Monday about Getting Out (of My Head) a Bit

I spend too much time in my own head.

It’s a hazard of fiction writing. Or is it that I’m able to write fiction BECAUSE of all the time I spend in there? Chicken or the egg, you know. Sometimes you have to come out for air and a change of perspective.

I had another discouraging week of not writing to quota. Why is it that no matter how much I write about getting back on the Wriding Horse, I still find myself lacking when I finish the week? I don’t think it’s just about “Breathing is Overrated” – sure, the story just doesn’t want to run along on its own, but I have a feeling that if I was writing anything else I’d still be stalling (as a plane, not as a procrastinator.)

Maybe I need to do something differently.

I read someone else’s blog – St. Cyril – and someone had asked him about getting stuck. The most pertinent piece of advice was something that I don’t normally do: stop trying to force it – don’t write. Get out (as in OUTSIDE and OUT OF MY HEAD.)

I was going to try cramming in a few hours writing Sunday morning to keep my total from being TOO terribly embarrassing (because I WILL report it every Wednesday for all the world to see), but that just didn’t feel like the RIGHT reason to WRITE (quotas can be motivational, but not particularly inspiring.) So instead, I meandered (on a Sunday!) around, did some chores and ran some errands, and spent more time than I have in a while paying attention to what was going on around me. I interacted with people, noticed some interesting ones who might make it onto the page (although none of them belong in “Breathing”), and just in general got out of myself (although suspiciously, I spent a lot of time in introspection about how I was getting out of myself, so maybe I wasn’t OUT so much), and overall spent my time looking at everything from a different perspective.

This week will be better (it better be.) Just saying…

<<<>>>

I have 2-1/2 weeks to get my next ePub out there – either “Some Kind of Luck”, or “Out of Place.” Release is scheduled for March 10th.

<<<>>>

immortalgreycoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his latest publication “Immortal” can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

 

Leave a Reply

