goals / writing

Writing Wednesday: Things to Pay Attention To

Weekly goal status:

Stories-to-Market rotation continues on schedule, as do my 3-per-week blogs. The preorder campaign for The First Three ‘Things I Could Get Out of My Mind’ is on. I haven’t created the paperback yet – it may not be available until after the release weekend (it takes a lot of time to format properly.

I managed 2649 words last week – ALMOST my quota; all of it was on “There’s No Present Like the Time” (it’s so nice to have a story that isn’t trying to play hard to get.)

I was looking over my Smashwords dashboard and noticed that there’s an outstanding ticket for “Immortal”. To explain, Smashwords is an eBook distributor. In addition to selling through smashwords.com, they also distribute to other eBook sellers, such as Apple, Barnes & Noble, Diesel, Flipkart, and various others, as well as Library organizations. Each of these markets has their own requirements for what they expect out of an eBook, and things they won’t tolerate (such as active links inside the eBook to another seller’s sites, or book titles in ALL CAPS, or various formatting issues. When a market has a problem with your eBook, a ticket is issued that describes the problem so you can fix it and resubmit.

In the case of “Immortal”, a ticket has been sitting there since February 15th from Apple (I didn’t notice it because it was at the far right side of the page.) The complaint is that the content is incomplete, specifically:

This book is missing content. For example, all the chapters, and the story only contains one page. Please add the missing content.

“Immortal” is a flash fiction (this is stated in the blurb), and it isn’t the shortest story I’ve ever ePubbed; either Apple has changed their requirements, or someone is confused. But until I get it straightened out, “Immortal” isn’t in Apple’s catalogue.

*****

One of the reasons I’ve kept my collections down to six stories is the preview capability. You can set the percentage on Smashwords, but on Amazon it seems to be fixed at approximately the first twelve-percent of pages. Depending on the length of the first story in a collection, it might be possible to read the entire story in preview mode, so I usually put the longest story first. Still, I was afraid that increasing the story count would mean one or more of the stories could be read in the free preview (a short story collection is different than a novel – there are multiple endings throughout the book in a collection, instead of just one at the very end.

I decided my sales volume might increase if my collection was bigger, so the latest is 18 stories (the combination of my original three ‘Things I Could Get OUT OF MY MIND’ collections.) Whether it will actually make a difference in my sales – hey, I ain’t no psychic.

Just saying…

CollectionFirst3Cover<<<>>>

The preorder campaign has nine days left for The First Three ‘Things I Could Get OUT OF MY MIND’ – a collection of my first three OUT OF MY MIND collections (a total of eighteen short stories in all.)

The release date is April 7th, but you can PREORDER it now through then at a REDUCED PROMOTIONAL PRICE of 99-cents (such a deal!), and is available at several online sellers, including, but not limited to:

Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/712373

Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XR2TQQQ

<<<>>>

SomeKindOfLuckCoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his latest publication “Some Kind of Luck,” can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• His Amazon Author page:  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B008O8CBDY
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

 

Leave a Reply

