Creativity / goals / writing

Writing Wednesday: A Hard Thing to Do

Tracking my goals: Submission-to-markets rotation remained on pace. Family health issues and trip out of town for a wedding kept me to two blog postings last week; I could avoid this failure in the future by getting ahead on my topics and postings, rather than relying on the last minute to be available. I’m still fine on my every-fourth-week ePublishing schedule, but my next release date is May 5th and I haven’t settled on the story, or done any of the formatting.

My writing count was only 1161 words last week (way short of my 3000 quota), and all of it was on final revisions for “There’s No Present Like the Time” and “Stalking Rebecca” last week, as well as the rework of the story I’ll be submitting to the Writers of the Future; the contest insists on anonymous readings, so I won’t say which story I am sending, just in case one of the judges reads this post (yeah, like that’s going to happen.) With “There’s No Present Like the Time” and “Stalking Rebecca” out to market, I’m now up to five of the required twelve stories for this year – still not a good pace for the year with Swordsmaster still on the schedule (I know I’ll need at least five months to work on the novel, so I have at most seven months for the twelve stories.)

*****

In addition to WRITING, writers are also supposed to READ. I initially had Dave Pringle’s 100 Science Fiction Stories list as required reading in my yearly goals, but finally give it up; I had my reasons (I had read a good assortment of the list, the list is somewhat outdated, I should also be reading more recent pieces to understand the current market, and my inability to even find time to sit down and read, and because using what little time I had would take away from my writing, which is my PRIMARY responsibility in this quest.)

The bulk of the reading I’ve had time for since I started writing has been short fiction – in particular, I’ve been subscribing to Daily Science Fiction since they first started up, and it’s great that I can pop it up on my cell phone wherever I’m waiting for whatever, and read something (this is one of the many reasons that the smartphone is one of the greatest inventions ever.) I hate it that DSF changed to publishing stories that are only 1500 words or less (it’s a selfish hate – since my writing method means that a story is as long as IT decides to be, I don’t deliberately target a length, so if I produce something that could be sold to DSF, it’s pretty much an accident), but I’m sure they had their reasons, too, and I still enjoy their stories.

The best thing for my need to READ, however, is audiobooks. I spend enough of my life driving the car by myself that it seems a waste not to be able to use that time more productively (and enjoyably.) I’ve just recently discovered Audible, and I’m hooked. First, I was just trying out the free book previews to get a feel for what’s in the market now, then I found the channels, including some great sci-fi short stories, and then I finally chose my free audiobook: Orson Scott Card’s Seventh Son.

When I first started down this WRIDING path, one of my early reads was OSC’s Ender’s Game, and I was hooked on his writing; he has a way of getting you inside the characters that I someday hope to learn to do myself. I’ve been through all the “Ender” and “Ender’s Shadow” books, some of them on audio, and have not only been impressed by the writing, but by the quality of the productions. (I’m not sure if I can tell when I listen to a book whether it’s the writing or the audio/acting that’s winning me over; it’s most likely both.)

Seventh Son in no way disappoints – superb writing and reading that gets you inside most of the characters, and had me feeling DEEPLY many, many times (you can read DEEPLY as including tears. When I read Daily Science Fiction short stories and give them a rating of 1-7 rockets, I reserve 7 for the ones that make me cry, and 6 is at least some deep emotion – again, what I value and hope to achieve in my own writing.) I plan to listen to the remaining books in the Alvin Maker series, and part of my rework on Swordsmaster will be to become better at what Orson Scott Card does so well.

A tall order, I know, but after all: “We do these things not because they are easy, but because they are hard.” (thanx, JFK)

Just saying…

<<<>>>

My next eBook release date is May 5th – I wonder what it will be…

<<<>>>

CollectionFirst3CoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his most recent publication The First Three ‘Things I Could Get OUT OF MY MIND’,  can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• His Amazon Author page:  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B008O8CBDY
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

Leave a Reply

