goals / selling / writing

Writing Wednesday: A Couple of Pointers on Selling Your Work

Goal update:  Resubmissions to market continue on schedule (no longer than 7 days after return.) Maintained my three blog entries. I’ve started formatting my June 4th release is – Downtown Blues: Detective Jimmy Delaney Collection #2, but I’m not getting it done as quickly as I need to to have a decent preorder campaign.

“The Voices” is now out to market, so that makes six of twelve planned stories for this year. I wrote 2438 of the expected 3000 words of fiction, mostly on Herc Tom, Champion of the Empire #4 (working title: “Baastard’s Revenge”.)

*****

About my bibliography:

When I first started ePublishing (well, after my first book), I would include a bibliography that listed all my other stories so readers would look for them (and maybe generate extra traffic and sales.) I had a link for every story to the market that edition was in (Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords.) I discovered after a while that I wasn’t supposed to have links to my Smashwords editions: Smashwords distributes to other markets, like Apple, Kobo & Sony, and those other markets won’t sell your book if it has links to a different market (Smashwords) inside, so I had to remove those links in the Smashwords. After I stopped publishing directly on Barnes & Noble (I now distribute to them through Smashwords), that meant that only my Amazon editions had links to my other stories.

I have now published 11 collections and 65 individual stories, which makes it a little overkill to place the full bibliography at the end of each eBook (the bibliography is longer than some of my stories), so a month or two back, I stopped posting all my story titles at the end of my eBooks – instead there is a single link to my bibliography on WordPress (at https://williammangieri.wordpress.com/bibliography/ ) This means that all the books I publish now will have a link to an up to date bibliography (at some point I’ll revise all my previously published eBooks to match.)

*****

Be mindful of your formatting when you send stories to market. In case you don’t know, most everyplace asks that your submissions be in Shunn Manuscript format. When I finished my revisions for “The Voices”, I opened the last story I had completed so I could copy the heading (your name, address,phone, email, and word count) and the headers (last name / story name / page#.) Well, the last story I completed was “Stalking Rebecca”, and IT DIDN’T HAVE A HEADING OR HEADERS (it’s already out at its first market, so may be rejected out of hand.) Then I looked at the story I finished before that and discovered I’d neglected that one as well; “There’s No Present Like the Time” went to three markets before I realized my mistake. “Stalking Rebecca” went to one, and since almost all rejection slips are form letters, I’ll never know whether the formatting caused the rejection (and you certainly can’t ask, and once you’ve submitted you can’t resubmit to that market.)

Beware. Be diligent.

Just saying…

<<<>>>

Slow going on my prep of Downtown Blues: Detective Jimmy Delaney Collection #2, which includes: “The Scent of the Crime”, “Killing Them Softly”, and “Hard Times.” There will be a paperback on Createspace, too, so there’s a lot of work to do. Release date is June 2nd.

<<<>>>

GoddessesCoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his most recent publication “Goddesses”,  can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• His Amazon Author page:  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B008O8CBDY
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

Leave a Reply

