goals / writing

Writing Wednesday: Doing It All Yourself

Goals recap for last week: Resubmission to markets is cycling as planned (there are currently 9 stories going through submissions right now.) Blog entries were on schedule. My next ePub (Downtown Blues: Detective Jimmy Delaney Collection #2) is on preorder and ready for its June 2nd release. I’ve formatted the paperback and am waiting for the proof to arrive from Createspace so I can inspect and approve it.

My word count for the week was 5416 words (almost double my quota!), all of it in Herc Tom, Champion of the Empire #4 (“Baastard’s Revenge”), which is currently over 1300 words – firmly in novelette territory, and even threatening to become a novella. The longer it gets, the more I know I’ll have to work to tie it all together once the draft is done – this will be a good warm-up for when I return to working on Swordsmaster.

Still sitting at six stories completed for the year (of the twelve I targeted.)

*****

If you’re like me, you don’t have a lot of money sitting around to throw into writing and publishing. I’m running this as a (poorly financed) business; it has to pay for itself.

Since I started writing seriously, I’ve had less than a handful of people who occasionally looking over my drafts (for free); I have no budget for editors, so that always falls to me in the end. If you have to do this yourself a breather between drafts – you’re more likely to catch your mistakes if you’re looking with fresh eyes (if the manuscript hasn’t had time to cool in your mind, it’s very easy to read past all sorts of mistakes because your mind won’t see the missed words, and all sorts of plot holes and weak spots will be invisible, because YOU still remember what you were thinking when you wrote it. I try to at least give it a week before I do my final revision (this works for me because my memory is so poor, I’m not even sure I wrote what I’m reading.)

*****

With the same penny-pinching philosophy, I have to do my own formatting, including cover creation. There was a time when I actually paid for a photo to use on a cover, but I got over that quickly (as I said – this has to pay for itself.) There are sites that have payment free / royalty free photos that you can use as long as you follow their rules (my favorite is Morguefile.) I usually have an image in mind that I then try to build with free components, although sometimes I run across photos that spark a different cover concept. I use either PhotoImpression (an OLD copy that came with a camera years ago), or Photoshop Elements (depending on which of our devices I’m trying to create my cover on.) Once I have my cover image, I add the cover text in PowerPoint.

I think I have a pretty good eye for visuals, and do a pretty good job of pulling my covers together on less than a shoestring; except for a couple of covers where I just couldn’t find the right pictures or ran out of time (yes, time is budgeted, too). One of my newer beta readers recommended that I need to make my covers look more professional. He’s probably right, but I’m pretty happy with my results.

Like I said – I have limited time and resources, so if I have to choose between having time to write and creating a cover, you know where I’m going to lean.

We all have our priorities. Just saying…

<<<>>>

JD2DowntownBluesCoverTwo days remain on the preorder campaign for Downtown Blues: Detective Jimmy Delaney Collection #2, which contains the second set of 3 stories in the Detective Jimmy Delaney series:

“The Scent of the Crime” – Detective Jimmy Delaney finds himself involved in yet another murder. He knows something smells in Barnstow, but can he use that to find the killer?

“Killing Them Softly” – In a strange series of coincidences, young women start dying in Barnstow. Detective Jimmy Delaney doesn’t believe in coincidences – and he’s doubly suspicious when his irresistible nemesis Diana hires him to solve the murders. But can he stop the killer before they strike again?

“Hard Times” – Johns are dying in Barnstow. It was bound to happen eventually, in a city where legal prostitution is a big part of the tourist industry, but not so many so fast. And of course, if there are dead bodies in Barnstow, Detective Jimmy Delaney isn’t far away.

If you enjoy a little confused, crime-laden mayhem with a smattering of sci-fi and plenty of human frailty (and some redemption), Detective Jimmy Delaney is for you. The release date is June 2nd, but the collection is available to preorder at a reduced price at various sellers, including, but not limited to:

Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/725618?ref=NoTimeToThink

Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072FM5H18

JD1BrokenDownCover(And if you’re not caught up on Jimmy, you might want to also pick up the first three stories in Broken Down:  Detective Jimmy Delaney Collection #1 (contains “In a Flash”, “Mixed Signals”, and “The Right Idea”):

Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/449196

Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00L2K4GN4

<<<>>>

GoddessesCoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his most recent publication “Goddesses”,  can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• His Amazon Author page:  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B008O8CBDY
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

Leave a Reply

