Creativity / writing

Writing Wednesday: Revising “Baastards”

Last week’s goal rundown: Three blog postings – check! Submissions rotation – Victimless STILL needs a market, so I am not keeping up (if only my usual markets weren’t taking so long to reject my other stories, I would have someplace to send it.) My indie publishing schedule is still good (next release is June 30th.)

I wrote a disappointing 1439 words – less than half of my 3000. “Baastard’s Revenge” first pass is complete, but I can’t count it until it’s completely finished, so I’m still stalled at 6 of the 12 required stories for this year (even though this one is worth 3-5 stories in length, it counts for no more than a 500-word flash-fiction. “Well, gee, Bill, wouldn’t it be easier to write twelve flash fictions instead?” Yes, it would be easier, but that’s not how I roll.)

<<<>>>

I finished the rough draft of “Baastard’s Revenge” Friday, and – foolish me – thought I’d get my first revision done over the weekend. And I would have if this was one of my NORMAL length stories. It’s not – it’s over 16,500 words, so now I’m having to do more revision than I’m accustomed to (at that length, it’s so easy to go astray, and harder to spot the inconsistencies that develop while the story is “streaming” out of me.) I suspect there’s a formula that would tell me the amount of effort it will take n=me to finish a story based on the final word-count. It doesn’t feel like it’s geometric – it’s probably exponential.

I use MS Word for my writing, and I take advantage of the Comment feature to mark spots that I know need rework. When I’m doing my first revision, I read through the document and take care of the notes that only involve one spot in the document as I go. Any comment that touches multiple points in the story I move to the top of the document, and then I work those one at a time. Normally, I have no more than two or three of these story-spanning issues to take care of during my first revision – I have over twenty-five of them in “Baastard’s “Revenge.” Some are to make sure I maintain consistency on times, history, measurements. Plots and sub-plots need to be strengthened and tied together, characters involved in earlier scenes so what they do later makes sense. And then there are elements that need to be checked for consistency between this story and the previous Herc Tom stories – more history, geographic locations, characters, weapons, etc.

Almost as bad as writing a novel; a good warm-up for (and reason to fear) returning to Swordsmaster. I’m still planning to write Herc Tom #5 & #6 first, but we’ll see.

The best laid plans of mice and men (and cats)…

Just saying…

<<<>>>

Sixteen days until June 30th and my next ePublication (and no, I still haven’t decided what the release will be.)

<<<>>>

JD2DowntownBluesCoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his most recent publication Downtown Blues:  Detective Jimmy Delaney Collection #2,  can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• His Amazon Author page:  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B008O8CBDY
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

Leave a Reply

