goals / writing

Writing Wednesday: What Separates Writers and Readers…

Weekly goals made – three blog posts, market rotations are good (I’ve found a couple more markets to try, so that helps make up for the ones that have gone belly-up.) ePubs (modified by revamping the blurbs on all 80 of my ePubs) still on schedule (although I’m only about a quarter of the way through with that work – I have to finish by August 25th.)

I’m still in the middle of Robert Heinlein’s The Moon is a Harsh Mistress – when I’m done I’ll need to read one more spec fiction novel.

Wrote 3100 words (that’s right – SEVEN weeks in a row of making my weekly quota – again all due to setting daily sub-quotas.) I finished the initial draft of “Interview with the Blue Neon God” (yes, I have changed the working title), so that needs two more passes. That and the final revision of “Imperial Purrogative” will give me ten of my twelve stories for this year.

*****

I love the convenience of Audio Books – without that (and specifically Audible), I wouldn’t be able to find the time to sit down and READ (because I have so little “free” time, whenever I can sit down I need to be WRITING.) It’s great as an entertainment form, but it’s gotten me thinking about something. Am I enjoying the book because of the way it was written, or is it the way it was read?

Depending on the format in which you interact with a book, there are layers of distance that are placed between the writer (creator) and the reader (consumer.)

There is already a layer between the writer and the reader, even if you are reading the printed page; no matter how good a writer is, what’s in their mind doesn’t get translated perfectly to the page – it’s already an interpretation of thoughts into words. And then the reader takes those words in and interprets them (based on their own background and experience) from words into their own thoughts.

If you “read” in an audiobook format, then the performer becomes another layer, adding their interpretation to the writer’s text, so that the reader/listener is given something totally new to interpret.

Imagine if you are listening to a book by a non-English-speaking author, interpreted into English by a translator, edited for perceived errors, interpreted into audio format by a performer, and then listened to by the reader. The reader might have loved the audio, but absolutely hated the original.

I plan to go back and read at least part of The Moon is a Hard Mistress when I’m done with the audiobook to see if it reads the way it was performed. Of course, my visit is already corrupted bu the audiobook, just like when I read a book after seeing the movie, I picture the actors while I read.

Just saying…

<<<>>>

BaastardsRevengeCoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his most recent publication “Baastards’ Revenge” (the fourth story of his Herc Tom series), can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• His Amazon Author page:  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B008O8CBDY
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

Leave a Reply

