writing

Writing Wednesday: Polymorphic Stories

Last week’s goal stats: Three blog posts. Still rotating stories back out to market in the new 10-day schedule, but I just had six stories returned last week, so it’s going to take some juggling to figure out where to send each one next (various markets don’t like you to send another story to their slush piles for one or two weeks, while others I normally send to are closed for submissions – as a writer, sometimes it can be such a struggle to find someone ready and willing to reject your work.)

Finished reading Heinlein’s The Moon is a Harsh Mistress (an excellent book), and have begun Pratchett’s Guards! Guards! – my last speculative novel to read for this year.

I wrote 2,208 words last week – still short of my 3,000-word quota, but better than last week because I wrote every day, just not enough each day. Most of the words went into Swordsmaster (now over 60,000 words now, and still what I would call a very rough, rough draft. This NOVEL stuff ain’t easy), although I did cheat some words into the start of another short story. Or two stories, really.

I used to write down story ideas all the time, for fear that I would forget them (and not have anything to write, silly me.) Not only do I never seem to run out of ideas, but it turns out that I can’t hold onto one, either; if I don’t write it when it comes to me, it morphs into something different by the time I get around to it. I recently mentioned that I wasn’t going to start writing story #11 for this year – originally titled “Schitzo the Magnificent” – until I had worked out where exactly the story was going to wind up. I know now – and true to its name, Schitzo has a split personality –  where it has decided to go has almost nothing to do with the original idea (meriting a title change to “Date Night”), but at the same time the original idea for “Schitzo the Magnificent” still survives. So now I have two stories – a gift that keeps on giving.

As far as Swordsmaster goes, I’m about 2/3rds of the way through my second pass, and have added a scene I knew I was missing two years ago, and started fleshing out some parts that were a bit sketchy. It’s time to admit something: for all my planning about this, I really have no idea how many passes it will take to have this novel in publishable condition. But then, I really shouldn’t try to hold myself to an arbitrary number of passes – it will be done when it’s done (or when the fat lady sings, whichever comes last.) I’m going to do my best to make a diligent and honest amount of effort on it, hopefully without becoming caught in the perpetual rewriting trap.

Heinlein’s Rule #2:  YOU MUST FINISH WHAT YOU WRITE.

Just saying…

<<<>>>

Collection9CoverTWO DAYS left in the preorder campaign for Just Some More, And Yet Still Even More Things I Could Get Out of My Mind ; the collection includes the following short stories:

“The Collective is All” – At least that’s what Abbe’s been told, but events lead him to wonder if there might just be some intelligent life “out there.”

“Reflections” – What are we, really – the sum of our parts, or something less? How much control do we have over what we become?

“Some Kind of Luck” – Henry Jacob Dawes is a cab driver with an ear that keeps him out of trouble – until he has a run-in with someone with a different kind of luck.

“L-O-V-E Among the Stars” – A space traveler wakes too soon, and must leave the woman of his dreams to the ministrations of another, less-human caretaker.

“Burial Details” – An old farmer, scraping by after the Sahrian invasion, buries his most precious treasures to hide them from the aliens’ “salvation”.

“Immortal” – Riddled with a more than terminal disease, Commander Solitaire considers an extreme way to protect the Earth. There’s more than one way to be immortal.

“Solid People” – The afterlife is what you make of it. A run-in with Mr. Topp’s flatbed strands Sarah and her mother in Newbury. Despite her mother’s warnings,  Sarah decides to spend her time with some Solid People (a mild, slightly romantic ghost story.)

“You Can’t Question the Dead” – A father gives some timely advice as he hopes to apprentice his son into his family’s business. Blood is thicker than water, but whose blood will it be?

The release date for Just Some More, And Yet Still Even More Things I Could Get Out of My Mind is September 22nd, but it is available for preorder NOW, so take advantage of the REDUCED PROMOTIONAL PRICE at various online sellers, including, but not limited to:

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/746730?ref=NoTimeToThink

Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075FGSZVM

AND, if you prefer to hold a book in your hand, the collection is also available on Createspace at: https://www.createspace.com/7550116

<<<>>>

BaastardsRevengeCoverWilliam Mangieri’s writing, including his most recent publication “Baastards’ Revenge” (the fourth story of his Herc Tom series), can be found in many places, including:
• Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NoTimeToThink
• His Amazon Author page:  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B008O8CBDY
• Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/william-mangieri?store=book&keyword=william+mangieri
• Createspace (if you prefer physical books):  https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=william+mangieri&sitesearch_type=STORE
To CONNECT WITH HIM (and LIKE and FOLLOW), go to
• His site on WordPress:  https://williammangieri.wordpress.com
• “William Mangieri’s Writing Page” on Facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/NoTimeToThink
• His Goodreads author page:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893616.William_Mangieri
• Or on twitter: @WilliaMangieri

Leave a Reply

